Holiday Wish List

Every year, my family attempts to take the guesswork out of holiday shopping.  We ask for holiday wish lists.  It may sound unromantic, but I come from a pragmatic family, and I appreciate the efficiency and forthrightness of it all.

This year, I’m going to write about the things I want for the holidays. I anticipate that this task will be much more difficult once I get down to it, but here goes:

image from saffronrouge.com

I’m a sunscreen junkie. When people ask me about anti-aging creams, I maintain that a good sunscreen is the best. I prefer natural formulas with broad spectrum zinc which has led me down a path of chalky dryness. Over the summer when I’m a little more unctuous, I can use a heavier formula like Soleo Organics with a mineral powder over it. While the sunscreen seems greasy at first, it sinks in and the zinc balances out the oiliness. I need a rice paper pat in the afternoon and reapplication with Badger sunscreen stick, but aside from that the combination works for me.

But in the winter, the powder and zinc dries out my skin, and I prefer a dewier look.  I also want a little sun on short winter days, so I generally do not reapply. In the past, I mixed Dr. Hauschka sunscreen with one of my faves, the Toned Day Cream.  But they stopped making sunscreen due to changes in European regulations. I have not tried this mineral sunscreen by John Masters Organics, but it gets rave reviews for playing well with makeup and not leaving a heavy white cast. Plus, it is more expensive per ounce than I’d like to pay but doesn’t break the bank in general. Which means totally giftable!

ALERT! A limited edition scent by my favorite brand of oil blotting papers is on sale right now at sephora.com! Grab one for just $5!

One response to “Holiday Wish List

  1. Miss Fashionista

    Hmm… peppermint scented oil blotting papers… That’s a good gift and a great price…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

