Build My Wardrobe: The Skinny Jean Saga

AG Adriano Goldschmied Farrah Jeans

AG Adriano Goldschmied Farrah Jeans at piperlime.com

Still obsessing over the finding the right skinnies, I have tried about 10 different pairs this past week:

  • 7 for All Mankind
  • Levi’s denim leggings
  • Rock and Republic
  • Calvin Klein
  • William Rast
  • Cheap Monday leggings
  • Raleigh Denim (Straight fit)

The approach was open-minded. I embraced leggings as well as a melange of finishes.  All had their issues: gaps in the waist, Signourney-Weaver-only lengths, low pockets, ugly pockets, etc.  One issue prevailed.  They were all too low-rise.  I guess a two-inch zipper is just fine for most of America; but apparently, I am very. . . how shall we put this. . . high quartered?  I don’t even know how to put it. But days spent wearing any of these jeans would necessitate carefully mapping out destinations with closed back chairs.

I have renewed focus on high-rise skinny jeans with a darker rinse.  Raleigh Denim skinnies arrive mid-October at newbie Centennial Trading Company.  Gusto has a carefully selected array of denim, plus an adorable dog.  It’s worth a stop just to give him a pet, chat with the owners, and check out the artful displays.  The cherry on top would be to buy from a local small business.  Three others to try:

  • J Brand
  • AG by Adriano Goldschmied
  • Levi’s Curve ID (I know it’s not premium, but we’ll see how the fit stacks up.  My bets are on bold or possibly demi with a touch of VPL).
6 responses to “Build My Wardrobe: The Skinny Jean Saga

  1. I can’t do skinny jeans. I’m too short and not skinny enough, I’d make people enough….but I do dig the low-rise. My muffin top needs to breathe!

  2. I’d make people LAUGH…have only been up for 3 mins… 😉

  3. I have the 7 for all mankind Genevieve super skinny jeans and I absolutely love them. The only thing I recommend is going for ones with a little stretch. Since they are so tight, they will get stretched out at the knees very quickly. Happy Hunting!

  4. Susan

    I’m a Lucky gal… have you given them a try? Not sure they have a legging…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

